Two Bayless Students Receive SSD Award

The Rosemary Zander Award honors positive attitude and determination.

Last Wednesday two Bayless High School students were recognized by the Bayless School Board for having earned the Special School District's Rosemary Zander Award.

William Brahan and Ra'Shawn Wright came with their families and thanked their teachers as the board honored them.

According to the Special School District website, the Rosemary Zander Award, founded in 1988, recognizes accomplishments by SSD students that demonstrate positive attitudes and an unwavering will to succeed.

The award is named for an SSD teacher who died in a car accident in 1988.

SSD's website describes Zander:

In her 20 years with SSD, Rosemary Zander came to know hundreds of young people. And although her students came to her classroom with a wide range of abilities, she was determined that they all leave the classroom with the same thing: pride in who they were and what they could accomplish. The subject of self-esteem was central to Zander’s teaching philosophy. She attended local and national courses on the subject and worked to incorporate self-esteem training into her teaching. Soon Zander was spreading the word to other teachers, not only in the district but around the St. Louis area and across the country as a facilitator at educator workshops.

Congratulations to William and Ra'Shawn!


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something